GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
Ep 61 PEGS percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy what's the deal?
0:00
-13:28

Ep 61 PEGS percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy what's the deal?

Commercial formula and fresh food it's a mental issue too.

As someone who has gone through the experience of having a PEG tube and using commercial formulas for feeding, I am compelled to share my story on this episode of "GAG | Eating with Head and Neck Cancer Treatment" podcast. I know firsthand the mental and emotional challenges that come with having a feeding tube, and I want to offer some insights and practical tips for those who may be going through a similar experience.

First and foremost, it is important to accept the peg tube as a means to an end. While it may be difficult to come to terms with the fact that you cannot eat normally, it is crucial to remember that the tube is there to help you get the nutrition you need to heal and recover. It is also important to remember that the tube is potentially temporary, and that there is a plan in place to transition back to oral eating.

One of the things I found most challenging about using commercial formulas for feeding was the lack of variety and freshness in my diet. While these formulas are designed to provide all the necessary nutrients, they can be bland and unappetizing. I found that incorporating fresh foods into my diet, even in small amounts, made a big difference in my overall well-being and mental health.

Another important aspect of using a peg tube is having a plan to transition off of it and back to oral eating. This can be a daunting task, but it is important to have a clear pathway in place to achieve this goal. For me, this involved gradually introducing small amounts of food back into my diet, and slowly increasing the amount over time.

Overall, my experience with having a peg tube and using commercial formulas for feeding was challenging, but ultimately a necessary part of my recovery. I hope that by sharing my story and offering some practical tips, I can help others going through a similar experience.

You can find my community here and more about me here yvonnemcclaren.bio.link Resources to purchase - the good stuff

Easy Follow Easy Swallow Book - How I did it

0 Comments
GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
A podcast empowering global communities affected by head and neck cancer & dedicated to reducing social isolation through curated resources.
Inspire and educate fellow patients, clinicians, and caregivers alike, paving the way to embrace an optimal food life journey during and after treatment.
Lived practical advice on achieving better patient care with food, eating & PEG transitioning. Ideas & online resources to create best food life outcomes for head & neck cancer patients.
Providing patient insight for interprofessional collaboration regarding commensality, food and communication.