GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
Ep 5 It's not about the cookbook but the recipe. Physical & mental constraints we experience as HNC patients.
0:00
-23:17

Ep 5 It's not about the cookbook but the recipe. Physical & mental constraints we experience as HNC patients.

Face the grief

💜 House Keeping: 2 years ago I started a podcast titled “The No Feeding Tubes Show” & I had no idea what I was doing - but I crack on - in a rather extended celebration of my 5 years out from treatment I wanted to revisit where I was when I recorded this episode number 5.

I scrolled back through the episodes (try filing these!)

This one Episode 5, I am now working on Episode 76 - so it’s kind of cool to listen back.

Here’s the podcast I refer to with Theresa Richard

Theresa Richard even interviewed me and you can listen to that here

Before this horrible journey started I was a very social person. I was (or had been) an event manager, worked in and around food and wine all my career, and even turned down an audition opportunity for MasterChef here in Australia. 

I had Head & Neck Cancer (subsequent treatment) and a PEG tube feeder in my stomach for over a year. I didn't eat orally for 15 months. 

Episode 5 - It's not about the cook book but the recipe! The physical & mental constraints we experience as HNC treatment patients.

  In this episode I am discussing:- 

  1. Trismus and dry mouth

  2. Depression, anxiety, fear & failure 

  3. Breathe, meditation and stretching

Enjoy a bit of a walk down eating lane!

You can purchase Easy Swallow Easy Follow here

0 Comments
GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
A podcast empowering global communities affected by head and neck cancer & dedicated to reducing social isolation through curated resources.
Inspire and educate fellow patients, clinicians, and caregivers alike, paving the way to embrace an optimal food life journey during and after treatment.
Lived practical advice on achieving better patient care with food, eating & PEG transitioning. Ideas & online resources to create best food life outcomes for head & neck cancer patients.
Providing patient insight for interprofessional collaboration regarding commensality, food and communication.