GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
Ep 57 "Why aren't we telling individual patients about it?"
0:00
-11:40

Ep 57 "Why aren't we telling individual patients about it?"

IDDSI - a brilliant resource for dysphagia

Show Notes

In this podcast episode, I discuss the importance of the International Dysphagia Diet Standardisation Initiative (IDDSI) as a resource for people with swallowing difficulties.

I share my personal experience with dysphagia and how I discovered IDDSI, expressing frustration with the lack of promotion of the resource by healthcare professionals.

I note that IDDSI is person-focused and provides information that can be applied to an individual's personal eating life. I commend the volunteers and sponsors of IDDSI and encourage individuals to continue eating well and taking care of themselves.

I talk about my Mind Food Body Program that includes the use of IDDSI and how it helped me transition back to oral eating.

You can find my community here and more about me here yvonnemcclaren.bio.link Resources to purchase

Easy Follow Easy Swallow Book

0 Comments
GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
A podcast empowering global communities affected by head and neck cancer & dedicated to reducing social isolation through curated resources.
Inspire and educate fellow patients, clinicians, and caregivers alike, paving the way to embrace an optimal food life journey during and after treatment.
Lived practical advice on achieving better patient care with food, eating & PEG transitioning. Ideas & online resources to create best food life outcomes for head & neck cancer patients.
Providing patient insight for interprofessional collaboration regarding commensality, food and communication.