Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Eating in public.

I generally avoid it but today I had an ice cream.

I don’t often eat ice cream anymore, I find the melt point a little bit difficult to manage, back when I first had treatment for Oropharyngeal stage four cancer, the ice cream use to burn my throat, it felt gritty and as a result, unless it’s top shelf (high fat content) and expensive, I don’t enjoy it.

I started making my own “ice cream” with just frozen bananas and that with some seeded strawberry puree is the bomb.

You’d think this would be relatively easy to eat in public and it was, except I was sitting in my car and not having to talk to anyone. I avoid eating in public quite a bit now unless I absolutely have to. In part because I can’t tolerate having food stuck to my teeth and or gums and I get so tired trying to eat, converse, keep myself looking like an adult and managing dental hygiene. It all just has too many moving parts.

Today, quite uncharacteristically I bought an ice cream (its dead of winter here) and ate it in the carpark whilst I waited for my meeting. Cones made of wafer are pretty good as I still can’t tolerate wooden sticks in my mouth.

Nope, can’t stand the ‘feel’ of them any more, I often tell my surgeon when he’s giving me an endoscopy and checking my throat - please rinse that wooden tongue depressor under running water before putting it any where near my mouth.

Wooden cutlery / bamboo cutlery I’ll have none of it thank you very much.

Airlines and on board cutlery is my next challenge.

Eat Well.

0 Comments
GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
Unearthing the social impact of head & neck cancer & how to live your best food life with or without cutlery. Honest, lived experience on how to stay positive, stay connected when you are struggling to sit at the table.