Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Reclaiming my life.

Surviving the unimaginable & thriving again.

House Keeping: Some of the content I share here is really early days for me - literally weeks after treatment so you will notice hair changes, skin changes, speech changes and likely weight changes.

I am going to take you on my healing journey and provide some insight into what I have learnt along the way.

It will hopefully help those at the beginning and those (like me) a little way down the healing track.

I just found this video clip I did for Facebook back in 2019.

Not my best recording, the intent being for close family and friends not for platforms like Substack, still it serves a purpose for those early in their journey, or like me 5 years + out and maybe need a kick start again. A reminder to how far we have all come on our individual journeys.

This was 5 years ago.

I was still struggling to speak and recall I wanted to help people understand head and neck cancer treatment (me included) and I thought (love those drugs!) a mass video would do the trick. Little did I know, that this family video was the impetus for this publication GAG. | eating life that you are now reading.

It never fails to surprise me the progress made and how challenges are faced and conquered. I hadn’t realised I was still PEG tube feeding when I filmed this and that might explain why I look so gaunt. Pouring commercial formula into a tube in my abdomen. I was on a lot of drugs and really I had no idea conceptually what was going on around me if I am being honest. It wasn’t until I started to peel off the individual drugs that reality hit, and it hit hard, right when Covid took over the world. I curled up in the corner and just let it take its course. I healed with the world.

I posted this to help those that might need motivation, that might need to hear another’s journey, if for no other reason than to commiserate.

It does and can get better, I am living proof of that, I still have my tough days and the longer I move away from my treatment year, the more subtle and challenging the new way of living becomes.

Like you, I have had to find my way & manage the days, the nights and I will share with you over the next few weeks some of my recorded journey.

Below is an episode all about dental care and what I have learnt. May 2023 - This is a recorded version of my Podcast - GAG | eating life.

Thanks for joining me here today and as always …

Resources can be found here

Eat Well.

Share GAG.| eating life

Discussion about this podcast

GAG.| eating life
GAG | eating life with head & neck cancer Ep 60 - 120
Unearthing the social impact of head & neck cancer & how to live your best food life with or without cutlery. Honest, lived experience on how to stay positive, stay connected when you are struggling to sit at the table.